Image of the original Jesuit ConstitutionsThe work of the Jesuits in Britain is governed by the Constitutions of the Society of Jesus written by St Ignatius and ratified by Pope Paul IV in 1558.

The worldwide Society of Jesus is administered and governed from Rome by Father General, Fr Arturo Sosa SJ, who was elected by the 36thGeneral Congregation and confirmed in his post in 2016 by Pope Francis. The Society’s affairs are also regulated by Catholic canon law. The Jesuits are divided into ‘provinces’ for administrative purposes. In many cases, a province covers an entire country (as in Spain or Italy). The British Province includes England, Wales and Scotland, and, for historical reasons, Guyana, whereas the Irish Province includes the Irish Republic and Northern Ireland. In some cases, a province covers several countries (for instance, the East African Province), and, where a country has a very large number of Jesuits, it may be divided into a number of provinces (as is the case in India and the United States).

Provinces are grouped into nine “assistancies”.  For a comprehensive guide to the Society of Jesus around the world, you can use the clickable world map here

The assets of the Jesuits in Britain are held in charitable trusts (reg. no's 230165 and SC040490, Trust for Roman Catholic Purposes). These trusts are governed by UK charity law. To enable the Jesuits in Britain to fulfil their mission, the Constitutions provide that funds may be built up to promote and endow colleges and other works. Permanent endowment, however, is not allowed to our religious communities. Jesuits covenant any income they receive to the charitable trust.

Stonyhurst College, Mount St Mary’s College, and St Aloysius College are all separate charitable trusts and limited companies which prepare separate accounts.

Here you can also find some of our financial and governance documents.

province, constitutions, governance