St Omer

St Omers Lamb Chasuble Mid-17th century, restored 1827
We begin a series of blog posts from Stonyhurst College.  Each week we highlight a different object from their extensive collection of relics and artefacts which represent the oldest museum in the English speaking world.  Since 1609 thousands of ancient, precious and sacred objects have been entrusted to the Jesuits and the College, reflecting its unique role as a sanctuary for world culture spanning millennia.This object for this week has been chosen to celebrate the Feast Day of St...
Christmas Day in beautiful red calligraphy with a little gold star
  The 1914 Christmas edition of the Blandyke Papers in our Jesuits in Britain Archives are full of inspiring images and reflections for the Christmas season.  Click on the images to enlarge them.             Origin of the Blandyke PapersThe first issue of the Blandyke Papers was published on 8th January 1889 at St Mary’s Hall, Stonyhurst, Lancashire. The Hall was built as a Jesuit seminary in 1828 and...
The recent discovery of a lost First Folio of Shakespeare in the Bibliotheque de St-Omer in northern France has great significance for Stonyhurst College. The book seems to have been the property of the English Jesuit College founded in St-Omer in 1593 to provide a Catholic education for boys, forbidden on their native soil due to the religious laws of the day. St Omers College, as it was known, is the direct ancestor of Stonyhurst, now the oldest continuously surviving Jesuit school in the...